Goalkeeper World Rankings

Best Goalkeeper In The World Rankings – May 2011

Goalkeeper Rankings
1. (1) Iker Casillas (Real Madrid and Spain)
2. (4) Edwin Van Der Sar (Man Utd)
3. (3) Gigi Buffon (Juventus and Italy)
4. (5) Pepe Reina (Liverpool and Spain)
5. (2) Petr Cech (Chelsea and Czech Rep.)
6. (6) Victor Valdes (Barcelona and Spain)
7. (7) Hugo Lloris (Lyon and France)
8. (10) Manuel Neuer (Schalke and Germany)
9. (9) David de Gea (Atletico Madrid)
10. (8) Joe Hart (Man City and England)

Goalkeeper World Rankings

So there’s a deal done. The successor has been identified and the dotted line has been signed. You didn’t have to squint too tightly to read between the lines to see what Fergie was getting at. Whilst his team-mates had been begging Edwin van der Sar to reconsider his retirement plans, Sir Alex Ferguson responded like a man who has already bought the gold watch and arranged the catering for the retirement shindig. ‘Go away and enjoy your life, I’ve got my plans in place’ was the gist of what Ferguson was saying and such was the solemnity and unambiguity of his statements, that it was clear if he doesn’t have a replacement already secured, the process is at an advanced stage.

Having reached his forties still capable of excelling at the highest level, the calls for van der Sar to stay on are understandable. For much of this season I was worried that my assessment of the Dutchman’s performances was being coloured by over-sentimentality. Knowing we wouldn’t be seeing him for much longer, the temptation to eulogise decent performances into amazing displays of athleticism is always there, but van der Sar has been so utterly understated and reliable, the praise is warranted. He hasn’t made string of breath-taking saves (although to his credit, he still maintains the agility to do so), but his handling has generally been flawless, his command of his penalty area is supreme and his calmness has diffused throughout a defence that can do with all the reassurance it can get. As his long career reaches its final few games, van der Sar remains one of the best in the world and will be going out on a high. Just how much silverware is involved with this high will surely depend on how van der Sar maintains his level of performance throughout the month of May.

As enjoyable as van der Sar’s performances has been, there’s no doubt who remains number one in the world. Real Madrid didn’t come out of the El Classico series with huge credit, but again Iker Casillas did little wrong. He remains the world’s best and although there have been a sprinkling of mistakes in his performances, he retains a remarkably capacity to recover – both in the short-term sense of making a secondary save to cover for an initial mistake and in the long-term sense of showing mental strength when things don’t go quite right.

It’s been a controversial stance for some time (namely with Shaka Hislop who disagrees whole-heartedly!), but I still rate Gigi Buffon very highly. Throughout his injury troubles I felt it unfair to demote him down the rankings based purely on absence and I maintain that position. When he plays, he retains his talent and his form has been an important part in keeping Juventus in the hunt for an unlikely Champions League place. With Liverpool enjoying a resurgence, Pepe Reina is looking as sharp as ever. When things weren’t going well for the Reds, Reina wasn’t to blame, but playing in a more confident team has rubbed off on him. Petr Cech takes a small drop, mainly because of a couple of mistakes for Chelsea and the Czech Republic in the last few months. Overall however, he has still had an outstanding season and without him Chelsea would be struggling for European football next season, let alone a Champions League spot or even the title challenge they have somehow managed to string together. Joe Hart has dropped a few places, but that’s based on mistakes earlier in the year. It’s been a while since I’ve updated the rankings and although he has been better and still capable of producing amazing saves, those mistakes stick in the memory.

Manuel Neuer is the flavour of the month in goalkeeping circles lately. His performance in the first leg of the Champions League semi-final with Manchester United rightly earned the plaudits, but clearly the pundits who heaped the praise on him haven’t been watching him much in the Bundesliga where he has been putting in similar performances for much of the season. He hasn’t rocketed to the top of the rankings for a couple of reasons. Firstly, I try to make these rankings less knee-jerk and more long-term and as such, my views are based on watching over a reasonably extended period of time. Secondly, I still worry Neuer is more accident prone than is ideal. Every goalkeeper is allowed an occasional mistake, but there is a suspicion that for all his amazing saves, the Bayern bound goalkeeper still suffers from blips on too frequent a basis. In his defence, since first becoming aware of him a few years ago, the mistakes have been reduced dramatically and the sheer volume of work required of him behind the leaky Schalke defence means he’s in the firing line more often than some of his contemporaries on the list.

Although yet to make his debut on the list, Wojiech Szczesny deserves a mention for responding so well after disappointment in the Carling Cup final followed by injury in the Champions League. Criticism of him for going off at the Camp Nou was nonsensical as no-one truly knows the level of pain someone else his experiencing. Sure some people may have experienced dislocated fingers with little discomfort, but Szczesny’s personal physiology and medical history mean it’s may not be the same for him. He looks reliable and assured and Arsene Wenger looks to have solved his goalkeeping issues.

7 thoughts on “Goalkeeper World Rankings

  1. I love reading your website I truly feel like I am sitting that has a
    hot cup of joe sitting across from you catching up at the end of a long week.
    ..your writing style just flows just like a conversation
    and is truly entertaining and really informative too…hence the whale’s vagina!! LOL! Enjoy hearing with regards to the demonstrates and cities from your perspective and what you all do inbetween. A word of suggestions (if I might) to help keep the immune process up…eat as considerably curry and garlic as probable and drink lots of h2o…and prayers and constructive energy to Greg…keeping the faith will surely help him in his battle. Every one of the best..

  2. 3 years back I contracted strep. I received antibiotics but stopped them
    simply because it caused severe diarrhea. I didn’t acquire nearly anything else and my strep went away or so I believed. A pair months later on I extracted a wisdom tooth. Didn’t receive any
    antibiotics and my jaw locked up. The complete suitable side of my face was
    swollen for thirty day period. I used to be rushed into the ER cause they imagined I’d an infection. However right after, ct scans and MRI, they could find practically nothing. I then produced chorea followed by intense episode of dystopia with the jaw. After all of this strep started off coming on a monthly basis. The strep spread to my eyes and after that I developed the worse circumstance of erythema nodosum my medical doctors experienced at any time seen. I could not walk for around 2 months. I commenced obtaining superior following a while but then strep started off coming each and every other month and then every single month and then twice a month in addition to had negative reactive arthritis. Then it spread to your head of my humerus bone. For six months I could not move my correct arm. It felt like it wasn’t part
    of my body. I’d surgery plus they found that the whole head of humerus was filled with pus and there was no bone. All that was left was a shell. They cleaned it out but could not definitively say that it had been strep considering that lab results came up empty. Due to the fact the surgery, I’ve had strep every month.
    I’ve been on prolonged term antibiotics for six months in hopes that it would kill the strep. I’ve to check my heart and kidneys all
    of the time cause strep ordinarily impacts these areas.
    The weird point is which i even get the strep while over the antibiotics but my docs say that possibly I just need to
    choose it for extended adequate to see improvements.
    I often wonder if I had taken the full course of antibiotics that first time
    if I’d personally be where I’m these days. I’m confused as to how to deal with strep in the midst of its intense attack on my body. If anyone has any advice on this it could be greatly appreciated.

  3. Good day Chris. Many thanks for taking the time to comment.
    a) I guess the no timesheet issue would be for full time employees.

    b) I guess freelancers and 3rd party collaborators who charge by the day/hour tend to hold out
    their possess timesheets and invoice accordingly no?
    They never need to have your system to pug into.

    c) I guess I’m guessing because I definitely haven’t thought this to be a
    end result of with serious intent.

  4. I sense like each of the info is so contradictory around.

    I used to be not long ago diagnosed with Strep c it absolutely was a random examination I
    went to doc mainly because I maintain getting this odd experience like an allergy where
    my throat appears like its closing up other than its not each and every
    day identical to 2x every week. So doc calls and claims you might have strep c but
    your not contagious we do not actually need to treat
    it until you ought to. So I decide to treat it
    because on the internet everywhere you examine that if you
    don’t treat it could come to be a secondary an infection. Soon after my 2nd capsule of penicillin I received that experience like my throat was closing up and that i started out to feel like feverish and just completely wiped out. Now I dont know if I need to acquire the drugs or if I really should prevent. With every one of the contradictions specially within just the professional medical community what am I intended to accomplish??

  5. I tilted myself that will where I’d been leaning just a bit away from the part, enough to
    kick advertising as hard as I could possibly.
    Everyone else from her starting days are either dead, retired, or simply vanished from this green earth.

    Maybe the girl keeps a specific thing in her handbag.

Leave a comment to join the debate ...

